About

To foster medical excellence through Pathology and its related sciences.

The NY Pathological Society is one of the oldest societies in the United States devoted to Pathology and the various associated sciences. Founded in 1844 by a small group of physicians who were inspired by a similar society founded in Boston in 1828, it was envisioned as a collegial gathering to improve patient care through case discussion and the then current medical knowledge. It was incorporated in 1886 and continues the tradition of its founders to the present.

On its seal is the figure of Giovanni Battista Morgagni, the father of modern pathology, He is surrounded by the Latin inscription "mors gaudet succurere vitae" which is a partial phrase from the full sentence:"Hic locus est ubi mors gaudet succurere vitae" - here is the place where death delights to help the living. In modern terms - the efforts of pathologists in elucidating the etiology, morbidity and mortality of disease will serve to better the health of mankind.

True to its mission and its motto, the NY pathological Society holds monthly lectures, a residents' forum, and an end of the year day long President's Symposium. These activates are intended to foster scholarship and education by sharing the endeavors and knowledge of pathologists, physicians and medical scientists on timely and emerging concepts in pathology across the nation with the NY community of pathologists to advance medical excellence.

Officers


President and Chairman of the Board of Trustees:

Raavi Gupta, MD

SUNY Downstate Medical Center
Brooklyn, New York

Raavi.Gupta@downstate.edu

Vice President

M. Isabel Fiel, MD

Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, New York

mariaisabel.fiel@mountsinai.org

Secretary

Fang Ming Deng, MD

NYU School of Medicine, New York

Fang-ming.deng@nyumc.org

Treasurer

Patricia Romano, MD

Shiel Medical Laboratory
63 Flushing Avenue
Brooklyn, NY 11205
promanomd@shiel.com

Trustees

Ex Officio

Amy Chadburn, MD

New York Presbyterian/ Weil Cornell
Medical Center, New York
achadbur@med.cornell.edu

Trustee

Jonathan Melamed, MD

NYU School of Medicine, New York
jonathan.melamed@nyumc.org

Trustee

Adolfo Firpo, MD

Mt Sinai Hospital, New York
adolfo.firpo@mssm.edu

Trustee

Samuel Wahl, MD

Lenox Hill Hospital, New York
SWahl2@northwell.edu

Trustee

Bruce C. Horten, MD

Integrated Oncology-New York
Bruce.Horten@integratedoncology.com

Nominating Committee


Program Committee


Ahna Blutreich, MD

Planned Parenthood NYC, New York
ABlutreich@med.cuny.edu

Alexandros Polydorides MD PhD

Mount Sinai Hospital, New York
alexandros.polydorides@mountsinai.org

Andre Moreira, MD

NYU School of Medicine, New York
Andre.Moreira@nyumc.org

Anjali Saqi, MD

New York Presbyterian/ Columbia University Medical Center, New York
aas177@cumc.columbia.edu


Melissa Murray, DO

Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, New York
murraym@mskcc.org

Joel Lincoln, MD

St. Joseph's Medical Center, Yonkers
jlincolnmd@yahoo.com

Shabnam Jaffar, MD

Mount Sinai Hospital, New York
shabnam.jaffer@mountsinai.org

Committee of Admissions


Ladan Fazlollahi, MD

New York Presbyterian/ Columbia University Medical Center, New York

lf2490@cumc.columbia.edu

Steven Salvatore, MD

New York Presbyterian/ Weil Cornell Medical Center, New York

sts9057@med.cornell.edu

Surya Seshan, MD

New York Presbyterian/ Weil Cornell Medical Center, New York

svs2002@med.cornell.edu

Tiffany Hebert, MD

Montefiore Medical Center/ The University Hospital for Albert Einstein College of Medicine

THebert@montefiore.org

Vacancy

IT Committee


Stephen Lagana MD

New York Presbyterian/ Columbia University Medical Center, New York
sml2179@cumc.columbia.edu

Amir Momeni MD

SUNY Downstate medical center, Brooklyn, New York
Amir.Momeni@downstate.edu

Yonah Ziemba MD

Northwell Health
yziemba@northwell.edu

Arvind Rishi MD

Northwell Health
arishi@northwell.edu

Silvija P. Gottesman MD

Northwell Health

Chair of Social Media Committee

 

Committee for Residents and Trainee Education


Steven Salvatore MD

New York Presbyterian/ Weil Cornell Medical Center, New York

sts9057@med.cornell.edu

Pooja Navale MD

Mt. Sinai Hospital

pooja.navale@mountsinai.org

Andrew Turk MD

New York Presbyterian/ Columbia University Medical Center, New York

att2101@cumc.columbia.edu

Gloria Young, MD

NYU School of Medicine, New York

Gloria.Young@nyumc.org

Tiffany Hebert, MD

Montefiore Medical Center The University Hospital for Albert Einstein College of Medicine

THEBERT@montefiore.org


Note:  The Bylaws state that Program Committee and Committee of Admissions & Ethics serve one year, July 1 until June 30

JOIN